Aretha LP X 2

Aretha Franklin


Out of stock

Release Date: 10/9/21

To say that Aretha Franklin was one of the greatest American artists of all time is an understatement. Her multi-octave voice moved millions around the world during an unrivalled career that spanned six decades and garnered the singer-songwriter every achievement and honour imaginable.

Her reign as the Queen of Soul will play out across 20 highlight tracks which span her entire career and features alternate versions of classic hits, rarities, and live tracks, like her stunning performance of “(You Make Me Feel) Like A Natural Woman” at The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors in 2015. Arranged in mostly chronological order ARETHA opens with “Never Grow Old” which was released as part of her first single in 1956 by J.V.B Records and was recorded at New Bethel Baptist Church in Detroit, where her father, C. L. Franklin, was the long-time pastor.

The majority of ARETHA however, is dedicated to her record-shattering tenure with Atlantic Records
between 1967 and 1979, which included five consecutive #1 R&B albums. The collection also features
stunning artwork by celebrated artist Makeba KEEBS Rainey, who provides her signature style to a photo of
the Queen Of Soul taken by the legendary photographer, Neal Preston.

Track List
Disc 1: Side One
1. Never Grow Old
2. Today I Sing The Blues
3. One Step Ahead
4. I Never Loved A Man (The Way I Love You)
5. A Change Is Gonna Come
Disc 1: Side Two
1. Respect
2. Chain Of Fools – Alternate Version
3. Call Me – Alternate Version *
4. Rock Steady – Alternate Mix/Take
5. How I Got Over (Single Edit) – Live

Disc 2: Side One
1. Master Of Eyes (The Deepness Of Your Eyes)
2. Until You Come Back To Me – Work Tape *
3. Something He Can Feel
4. You Light Up My Life *
5. Think
Disc 2: Side Two
1. Freeway Of Love
2. I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) – Aretha
Franklin and George Michael
3. Someday We'll All Be Free
4. A Rose Is Still A Rose
5. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman –
Live* (Originally Broadcast On The 38 th Annual
Kennedy Center Honors 12/19/15)
*Previously unreleased audio