In Blue LP

The Bug Ft Dis Fig


Out of stock

Release Date : November 20th 2020

The Bug aka Kevin Martin, and producer/vocalist Dis Fig aka Felicia Chen, refer to their style on ‘In Blue’ as “Tunnel Sound”; a foggy,
melancholic meltdown of narco-dancehall-soul and dread-drenched, electronic dub. The 2018 prototype rhythms for this album were a
continuation of Martin’s ongoing quest for a futuristic dancehall mutation, but more sci-fi, aquatic and smokey than before. An
obsessive search for the right sultry 2AM voice to ride his syncopated walls of sub, fuzzed out white noise and infinite echoes
eventually led him to Dis Fig’s torched soul-jazz glow, and 20 months of subsequent lab exchanges have resulted in the deeply sensual
pulsations and lyrical long shadows of ‘In Blue’ – an album that shares shades of King Midas Sound’s wrecked lovers rock, alongside
the bass immersion that The Bug has become infamously known for. Just as Martin took a stylistic swerve on ‘In Blue’, so did Chen.
Previously known for experimental noise onslaughts and emotional exorcisms, she opts here for threatening intimacy and hushed
confessionals, concentrating on bittersweet vocals and seductive surprises that are all the more potent for their inferred narratives and
delicate delivery. Mixed during lockdown, the sense of claustrofear, escapism and tension throughout is palpable. With the bewitching
croon of Dis Fig directing the flow, carnality and violence merge under the turbulent, cinematic surface of an hypnotically addictive
album.TRACKLIST:A1. Around Me A2.Come A3.Destroy Me B1.Blood B2.In 2 U B3.Levitating C1.Forever C2.Blue To Black C3.Take
D1.No Return D2.You D3.End In Blue