The Who Essential CD X 3

The Who


Out of stock

Hailing from West London they began life as The Detours in 1964, became The Who, then briefly The High Numbers before returning to the moniker the world would come to know them so well by. Whilst original songs penned by lead guitarist Pete Townshend featured from the start, early live sets included covers of then current US Blues and R&B stars material too. Coupled with their Mod dress sense and affiliation with the pop art movement it made them a compelling live draw. Lead vocalist Roger Daltrey’s exceptional talent and muscular presence demanded the audience’s attention but Townshend and the group’s drummer Keith Moon, weren’t minded to occupy the shadows. At odds with the statuesque figure which their unique bassist John Entwistle cut, Townshend and Moon would develop a reputation for equipment destroying performances on stage and hotel room destruction off it. 

1965’s debut single I Can’t Explain rose to No. 8 on the UK charts and began a run of hit singles that would continue almost unhindered for the next 15 years. Included here are Mod anthem My Generation (UK No. 2), the explosive Anyway, Anyhow, Anywhere (UK No. 10) and the soaring I Can See For Miles (UK No. 10), together with key tracks from 11 of their 12 studio albums of which 7 made the UK top 5 and all have reached the UK top 20. From Tommy there’s Amazing Journey, Pinball Wizard (UK No.4) and I’m Free. From the UK No.1 album Who’s Next, the distinctive Baba O’Riley and the wonderful Behind Blue Eyes. Slip Kid (from Who By Numbers), Quadrophenia classic 5:15 (UK No.20), Who Are You (UK No.18) and You Better You Bet (UK No.9) continue the hits. Eminence Front proved a balearic classic whilst It’s Not Enough and Old Red Wine complete the studio journey. 

Disc 3 underlines why to this day they remain a compelling live proposition. From Leeds to Woodstock, the Isle of Wight to Lyon, the performances are quite incredible. Enjoy. 

101: Anyway, Anywhere, Anyhow
202: I Can’t Explain
303: My Generation
404: The Ox
505: The Goods Gone
606: Much Too Much
707: Circles
808: Whiskey Man
909: Run, Run, Run
1010: So Sad About Us
1111: I Can See for Miles
1212: Armenia City in The Sky
1313: Tattoo
14Call Me Lightning
1515: Rael (Pt 1 & 2)
1616: I’m Free
1717: Amazing Journey
1818: Sparks
101: Pinball Wizard
202: Here For More
303: Baba O’Riley
404: Behind Blue Eyes
505: Getting in Tune
606: Pure And Easy
707: I’m One
808: The Real Me
909: 5:15
1010: Long Live Rock
1111: However Much I Booze
1212: Slip Kid
1313: Who Are You
1414: Trick of the Light
1515: You Better You Bet
1616: Eminence Front
1717: It’s Not Enough
1818: Old Red Wine
101: Won’t Get Fooled Again live at Shepperton from Kids Are Alright)
202: Amazing Journey/Sparks (Live at Leeds Medley)
303: Magic Bus (Live at Leeds)
404: Summertime Blues (Live at Leeds)
505: Shakin’ All Over (Live at Hull)
606: Naked Eye (Live at per Who’s Next deluxe)
707: Bargain (Live at per Who’s Next deluxe)
808: Pinball Wizard (Live at Woodstock from Kids Are Alright)
909: I’m Free (Live as per Tommy deluxe)
1010: Go To The Mirror (Live as per Tommy deluxe)
1111: See Me Feel Me (Live at Woodstock from Kids Are Alright)
1212: Young Man Blues (Live at the Isle of Wight)
1313: Relay (Live at Lyon on deluxe of Endless Wire)