Telefís – a Dó (CD) (Pre-Order)



Out of stock

Release Date – 07/10/22 

Telefís, the groundbreaking collaboration between two Irish iconoclasts, revered singer-songwriter

Cathal Coughlan and world-renowned producer Garret “Jacknife” Lee, will release their second

album “a Dó” (number two) on October 7th. Following the release of “a hAon” (number one) in

March 2022, Cathal and Jacknife continued to work on music and completed the record at the end

of Spring. Then sadly Cathal Coughlan died on May 18th. Their debut album ‘a hAon’ was widely

acclaimed by the UK and Irish press and received national radio play on 6Music, Radio X, RTE,

Newstalk, and dozens of other outlets. The album playfully dissected the early days of Irish society

in the TV era through a prism of electronic dance music, drawing on what they saw as a ‘corrosive

nostalgia’. It also paid homage to their musical heroes of the punk and post-punk era. Kraftwerk

fighting with The Human League for a parking spot on Capel Street.

But amongst the muscular beats and distressed synth stabs there were also strange ballads,

haunting melodies and somber reflections. ‘a Dó’ continues to broaden these sonic horizons and

opens up the band’s output to outside collaborators. We have guest appearances from Cathal’s

longtime friend and Microdisney co-founder and High Llamas main man Sean O’Hagan on the first

single “Space Is Us”, Echo & The Bunnymen’s Will Sergeant guests on two tracks, legendary

Mancunians A Certain Ratio on another. The inimitable Jah Wobble also contributes bass smarts

following his dub odyssey with the band on their single “Falun Gong Dancer” earlier this year.

As with the first album, national UK and Irish press and radio will be solicited from all the key

outlets, with a series of excellent singles leading the charge, accompanied by arresting visuals

and videos created by Jacknife Lee.

This album will stand testament to the ingenuity of Cathal Coughlan, one of Ireland’s most revered

singer-songwriters, lyricists, commentators and polymaths. RIP.

Praise for the first album ‘a hAon’

“It’s an outstanding set that draws equally on Coughlan’s formidable songwriting gifts and Lee’s

experience as heavyweight producer of best-selling albums by the likes of Snow Patrol, REM,

Weezer and U2″ – The Irish Times

“…an entralling, entertaining union of skilful retro-electro and cuttingly cynical mischievously

surreal declarations amounting to a ‘corrosive nostalgia’ for 70s Eire” – MOJO

Track Listing

  1. Seo É Glór Na Teilifíse
  2. Swinging at the Hypnodrome
  3. Space is Us (with Sean O’Hagan)
  4. Stock Photo Guy (with A Certain Ratio)
  5. Hare Coursing in Mayfair
  6. Airstrip
  7. The Age Of Cling (with Will Sergeant)
  8. The Casiotone Angelus
  9. Strawboy Supernova
  10. Feed The Light
  11. We See Showbands
  12. The Carthagians
  13. Circling Over Shannon (with Jah Wobble)
  14. On A Country Road