U Kin B The Sun LP

Frazey Ford


Out of stock

On her third album ‘U kin B the Sun’, Vancouver-based singer/songwriter Frazey Ford inhabits an entire world of shapeshifting rhythm, elevating every beat and groove with the subtle magnetism of her mesmerising voice.

At turns ecstatic and heavy-hearted, gloriously shambolic and deeply purifying, ‘U Kin B the Sun’ is the outcome of a certain personal transformation that Ford has experienced in recent years. With its graceful collision of soul and psychedelia and sometimes ’70s funk, it’s a body of work that invites both self-reflection and wildly joyful movement, and ultimately sparks a quiet transcendence.

A departure from the guitar-driven and largely solitary songwriting that’s defined Ford’s previous work, both in her folk bluegrass trio ‘The Be Good Tanyas’ and her solo albums ‘Obadiah’ (2011) and ‘Indian Ocean’ (2014), much of ‘U kin B the Sun’ took shape from spontaneous collaboration with her longtime bassist Darren Parris and drummer Leon Power.

Over the course of several late-night sessions in the thick of summer 2019, the three musicians joined producer John Raham (Destroyer, Stars, Dan Mangan, Said The Whale) in dreaming up a brilliantly untethered sound, recording as they improvised and continually tapping into their potent camaraderie.

1. Azad
2. U and Me
3. Money Can’t Buy
4. Let’s Start Again
5. Holding It Down
6. Purple and Brown
7. The Kids Are Having None Of It
8. Motherfucker
9. Golden
10. Everywhere
11. U Kin b the sun