Wild Is The Wind LP

Nina Simone


Out of stock

Sixth studio album for Philips Records from American singer-songwriter Nina Simone. Wild Is The Wind was apparently made of up leftovers from previous recording sessions for albums that Simone recorded for the label. It’s a perplexingly diverse collection of material with selections ranging from jazz ballads to traditional folk tunes with a little pseudo calypso thrown in, as well. Despite all this the material is as strong and consistent as anything Simone recorded in the mid-60s. Particularly powerful at the two pop soul tunes penned by the pre-disco Van McCoy, along with the strong of vignettes about the hardships of African American women that make up “Four Women.” Eleven tracks in all. Released by Philips on black vinyl housed in a full color replica sleeve.

1 I Love Your Lovin’ Ways 2:35
2 Four Women 4:20
3 What More Can I Say 2:45
4 Lilac Wine (From “Dance Me A Song”) 4:14
5 That’s All I Ask 2:28
6 Break Down And Let It All Out 2:45
7 Why Keep On Breakin My Heart 2:30
8 Wild Is The Wind 6:53
9 Black Is The Color Of My True Love’s Hair 3:25
10 If I Should Lose You 3:55
11 Either Way I Lose 2:44